Update – JobKeeper 2.0 Eligibility Criteria

For those businesses currently enrolled in JobKeeper 1.0, it is important to note that there has been a change to the eligibility of some new employees. If you have hired new full time or part time staff between 1st March and 1st July 2020, these employees could be eligible for payments for the JobKeeper fortnight commencing 3rd August 2020.

In addition, if you have casual staff that have now been working for your business for 12 months or more as at 1st July 2020, they may also become eligible.

To ensure that you have satisfied the appropriate eligibility requirements for any new employees, or if you would simply like to discuss, please contact us as early as possible, as there are a number of steps that must be completed prior to 31st August 2020 to receive payment.

Here is some key information you should consider when reviewing your situation:

31st August 2020 – wage condition for new employees

For the fortnights commencing on 3rd August 2020 and 17th August 2020, the ATO allows employers until 31st August 2020 to meet the wage condition for all new eligible employees included in the JobKeeper scheme under the 1st July eligibility test.

31st August 2020 – enrolments close for August fortnights

To claim JobKeeper payments for the August JobKeeper fortnights, including for new eligible employees included in the JobKeeper scheme under the 1st July eligibility test, you must enrol for JobKeeper by 31st August.

If you would like assistance in accessing the above, you can contact our Accounting and Business Advisory team, who can guide you through the process.

Brisbane

Matthew Smith – matts@primefinancial.com.au
John Driscoll – johnd@primefinancial.com.au
Sean Fincham – seanf@primefinancial.com.au

Melbourne

Matt Murphy – mattm@primefinancial.com.au
Brendan Brown – brendanb@primefinancial.com.au
Simone Quin – simoneq@primefinancial.com.au
Paul Minieri – paulm@primefinancial.com.au
Jade Nicholls – jaden@primefinancial.com.au
Stuart Thomson – stuartt@primefinancial.com.au

Sydney

John Driscoll – johnd@primefinancial.com.au
Sean Fincham – seanf@primefinancial.com.au

This post is provided by Prime Accounting and Business Advisory Pty Ltd. Liability limited by a scheme approved under Professional Standards Legislation. This post is not a substitute for independent professional advice. We do not warrant the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of the information or material in this post. All information is subject to change without notice. We and each party providing material displayed in this post disclaim liability to all persons or organisations in relation to any action(s) taken on the basis of currency or accuracy of the information or material, or any loss or damage suffered in connection with that information or material. You should make your own enquiries before entering into any transaction on the basis of information or material in this post. Please ensure you contact us to discuss your particular circumstances and how the information provided applies to your situation.

SPEAK WITH US TODAY

A unique and personal service approach and support for all your business advisory and personal wealth management needs

Request a consultation

A unique and personal service approach to support all your business advisory and personal wealth management needs.

Request a consultation